Officers

Chair: Rachel Hendricksen, Scarborough
1st Vice Chair: Harlan Baker, Portland
2nd Vice Chair: Kathleen Worcester, Westbrook
Secretary: Barney McClelland, Yarmouth
Treasurer: Tim Goodwin, Standish

About the Cumberland County Democratic Committee

The CCDC meets regularly the third Sunday of each month, with locations varying to allow access for residents of the county’s varied locations. Meetings are open to any Democrat and often include presentations from state and national organizations.

Members of the committee are chosen at city and town caucuses held every two years. The last caucuses were held Jan. 31, 2010. If you wish to be a part of the county committee before the next caucus, you may e-mail ccdcchair@gmail.com. Even if we have no committee vacancies open, your energy will be welcome in a volunteer capacity until a spot becomes available.

The CCDC’s mission is to further the cause of the Democratic Party in Cumberland County by supporting the election of Democrats to local, county, state and national positions. In situations where more than one Democrat is seeking the same position, the CCDC does not take sides, but seeks to encourage voters to become familiar with all their Democratic choices.

Municipal Committees


Bridgton

Brunswick Website

Cape Elizabeth

Casco

Cumberland Fore.

Chebeague Island

Falmouth

Freeport

Gorham

Gray

Harpswell

Harrison

Long Island

Naples

New Gloucester

North Yarmouth

Portland Website

Pownal

Raymond

Raymond

Scarborough

Sebago

South Portland Website

Westbrook

Windham

Yarmouth


Margaret Reimer

Toby McGrath

James (Jamie) Wagner

P. Kelley Simpson

Tom Foley

Mary R. Holt

Pamela Fenrich

Wayne Hollingworth

Robert Skinner

Philip Ohman

Sudie Butchenhart

Sheila Rollins

Jane Murphy

Laura O’Donnell

Penny Hilton

Anne Graham

Reb Brann

Elizabeth Moore

Cheryl Lunde

Kathy Turner

Neil Jamieson

Joseph McMahon

Deborrah Jabar

Rick Goss

Michael Shaughnessy

Neil Shankman


320 Burnham Rd. 04009
647-3937; tarmrr@adelphia.net

19 Water Street 04011
837-3670; toby.jg.mcgrath@gmail.com

30 Hannaford Cove Rd. 04107
899-1298; wagnerjamie@yahoo.com

20 Heath Road 04015
627-4544; psimpson@maine.rr.com

29 Granite Ridge 04110
781-7135; tomfoptld@yahoo.com
Meets at 6pm on the 2d Tuesday of every month in the Prince Memorial Library on Maine St. (Rt. 9)

518-8236; democrats@chebeague.net

3 Fox Hall Road 04105
797-4571; pfenrich@maine.rr.com
Beginning September 2007, meetings will be the first Thursday of every month from 6-7pm at Town Hall.

42 Durham Rd. 04032
865-3042; wayne.hollingworth@maine.edu

9 Gateway Commons 04038
839-8777; robert@squirrelhaven.com

73 Dutton Hill Rd. 04039
657-5446; prohman@securespeed.us

121 Tondreau Point 04079
729-5590; sudier@suscom-maine.net

249 Scribners Mills Rd. 04040
583-6074; wwwings@megalink.net

875 Island Avenue 04050
766-3371; jmurphy@homesellersmaine.com

5 Spruce Lane 04055
693-3073; odonnellolken@aol.com

34B Chestnut Common Rd. 04260
926-4004; lupine@maine.rr.com

97 Farms Edge Rd. 04097
846-0049; apg1@maine.rr.com

portlanddems@gmail.com


299 Merrill Road 04069
688-4188; ejmoore@gwi.net

43 Turtle Cove Road 04071
655-3614; rginn1@maine.rr.com

PO Box 276 04071
655-4164; kathy103@maine.rr.com
Meets the 2d Thursday of the month at the Raymond Public Safety Building on Route 201 at 6pm

14 Kerryman Circle 04074
885-5461; jamieson@maine.rr.com
Meets the 4th Tuesday of the month at the Scarborough Municipal Building at 7pm.

PO Box 420 04029
787-2679; jpwilk@pivot.net

95 Harbor Place 04106
767-0935; deborrahajabar@yahoo.com
Meets the 3d Wednesday of the month at the Congregational Church on Cottage Road from 7-9pm.

153 Forest St. 04092
854-2050; rpgoss@aol.com

43 Park Road 04062
892-4672 ; michaels@usm.maine.edu
Meets the 2d Thursday of the month at the Windham Friends Church at 7pm.

405 Portland Street 04096
846-4569; shankman@maine.rr.com

Goals

The following is based on a 2007-2008 work plan; however, it still reflects the overall goals of the CCDC.

GOAL 1: PROMOTE THE DEMOCRATIC MESSAGE AND VALUES.

1a. Publish the Cumberland County Democrat.
1b. Operate the web as the go-to place for connecting with/mobilizing members and expanding the base of people who vote Democratic.

GOAL 2: RECRUIT AND ELECT DEMOCRATIC CANDIDATES.

2a. Develop and implement a regionally-based strategy to recruit and support candidates.
2b. Work with the Maine Democratic Party to insure that the CCDC has an easily accessible, user-friendly, and accurate voter file to use as a campaign tool.
2c. Develop and execute Field/ GOTV (Get Out The Vote) plans in coordination with the Coordinated Campaign.

GOAL 3: STRENGTHEN THE ORGANIZATION AND LEADERSHIP.

3a. Maintain a strong, viable CCDC.
3b. Establish a Marketing/Outreach Sub-committee to focus on increasing our visibility in parades, holiday events, and at other events.
3c. Launch focus on the environment (e.g. global warming, climate change) to focus attention on  the work of the Democratic Party/Legislature.
3d. Support Municipal Chairs/Vice Chairs and promote the development of local capacity.
3e. Recruit a Volunteer Coordinator to recruit volunteers (e.g. events, campaigns) and create and manage a volunteer database.
3f. Maintain a strong relationship with the Cumberland County Legislative Delegation.

GOAL 4: FUND THE MISSION

1a. Conduct an annual appeal with members and non-members.
2b. Conduct events.

GOAL 5: BUILD THE MAINE DEMOCRATIC PARTY

1a. Promote the success of our Democratic Caucuses.
2b. Promote the success of our Convention.